Open Banking.

If you bank with any of the big UK banks, you can now share data about your account and make payments in new ways. You’ll have more choice over which websites and apps you can use to do your banking, so it’ll be easier to manage your money.

What is Open Banking?

Open Banking is a change to UK regulation which makes it easier to bank the way you want to. We’ve made it possible for you to share your data and make payments in new ways. That means you can use different kinds of services to manage your money. These services are still quite new, but they should make everything simpler. For example, they might make it possible to see all your accounts with different banks in one place.

Open Banking is an industry-wide change to increase competition. That means these new services won’t just be offered by the Halifax and other banks. Other kinds of companies will offer them too, even those who haven’t been involved in banking before. We’ll be launching our own new services soon.

We want to make things easy for you. Making sure you can use helpful new services is part of this. That’s why we’ve been working with regulators, consumer groups and many others to make this happen.


What you can do with Open Banking

If you do your banking online, you’ll start to see new ways to use your accounts. Open Banking is still new, but sharing data and making payments through other websites/apps could make it possible to:

  • see all your accounts with different banks in one place
  • compare accounts quickly to find the right options for you
  • pay straight from your bank when you buy something online

Our own Open Banking services are coming soon, but you can already share data about your Halifax accounts and make payments through other websites/apps.


You’re in control

It’s up to you whether you use any of the new Open Banking services. You can still keep banking with us the way you do now. There’s no need to opt out of anything, and none of your data will be shared unless you choose to share it.

Whenever you do share data with someone, it’ll only be the data you’ve agreed to share, and you can cancel any time.