Close your account

We’re here to make closing your Halifax bank account as simple as we can.

How to do it

You can do this using the Lloyds app or online banking - let us show you step-by-step.

  • The simplest way to close your account is in our app:

    1. Log in to our app.
    2. Select the current account you want to close.
    3. Select the 3 dots.
    4. Select 'Close Account' in the Manage Account Section.

    Or

    1. Log in to our app and select Search.
    2. Select Message us 24/7.
    3. Enter Close current account and we'll help you.

    Our virtual assistant may ask for some more details. If it can’t help, it will usually connect you to a helpful human who will reply as soon as possible.

  • You may be able to close your account through online banking:

    1. Log in to online banking and select Help & Support.
    2. Select Message Us 24/7 to open the Message Us service.
    3. Enter Close current account and we'll help you.

    When messaging us, try and keep your question to 15 words or less. Set up notifications to find out when you receive a reply.

Get set up online

 

The Halifax brand is changing to Lloyds

If you don’t use online or mobile banking, you can start using the Lloyds app now to see your existing Halifax accounts. Once you’ve downloaded it, you can set it up using your Halifax account details.

How to get online

More on the change

Let’s take a closer look

  • We are able to provide you with access to copy statements (your transaction history) after you have closed your account, and at any time during the following five years.  

    If you still have access to our Mobile banking app or online banking through having another account that remains open, you can continue to view electronic copies of your transaction history on your closed account via your Digital Inbox.  

    Alternatively, you can request paper copy statements (your transaction history) after you have closed your account. You can do this at any time during the next five years. In addition, if you’re closing a current account, we will provide you with your transaction history (at no cost) covering up to five years prior to the date of closure, unless you choose not to receive it at that time.

    If you’re closing a current account, you can choose:

    • how to receive this information
    • the period (or periods) you want the information to cover, up to five years ago
    • whether you wish to receive it at all at that time

    We need to ensure that we send information to the right person at the right address. The volume of paper you will receive could be quite large; up to 60 pages of confidential copy statements if you receive the full five years’ worth of history, and even more for accounts with high transaction levels.

    Therefore, when you close your account, before we post you these documents, you should contact us, or visit us in any branch, to confirm which of the following you would prefer:

    If you would like it posted to you:

    Please contact us to confirm (1) the address we should use and (2) what time period you would like the transaction history to cover (up to five years prior to the date you closed your account).

    Please have your account and telephone banking details ready if you call, as we will need to confirm your identity.

    We will aim for your transaction history to arrive within 10 working days of us having confirmed your identity.

    If you would prefer to collect it in a specific branch:

    Please contact us to confirm (1) which branch you would like to collect it from and (2) what time period you would like the transaction history to cover (up to five years prior to the date you closed your account).

    Please have your account and telephone banking details ready if you call, as we will need to confirm your identity.

    We will aim for your transaction history to be ready to collect in branch within 10 working days of us having confirmed your identity.

    If you would prefer to have an electronic copy of your transaction history:

    • You can view your transaction history on your closed account online using your Digital inbox if you still have access to our Mobile Banking app or Internet Banking through having other accounts with us.
    • If you do not require this information when you close your account:
    • You may prefer not to receive your transaction history at all at this stage.

    Regardless of your choice, you will be able to request a copy of the same transaction data from us at any point during the five years after you have closed your account.

  • After processing your bank account closure, we'll write to you by post or email to confirm the closure.

    You'll need to destroy any debit cards you have for that account. You'll no longer be able to withdraw or pay in money into the account.

    If you use the Current Account Switching Service, any direct debits and standing orders set up on your old account will transfer to your new account. Any payments made to your old account will automatically redirect to your new account. We'll also contact the sender with your new account details.

    If you don't use the switching service, you'll need to update any payment details yourself.

    Be aware that once we close your account, we can't reopen it.

  • By your side when it matters, to help you deal with money-related matters when someone has died, including closing a current account. Find information on contacting us about a bereavement on the Lloyds bereavement support page.

  • Yes, closing a bank account could affect your credit score. This is because the account closure will be updated on your credit profile. How much it affects your score depends on factors including:

    • How old the account is
    • Whether it has an arranged overdraft.
    • How you’ve used it and if you made payments on time.

    Usually, any change in credit score caused by closing an account will usually only be temporary.

  • Reward Current Account

    There is no charge for closing your account. However, if your account stays open, you'll still need to pay £1,500 into your account every month for the £3 monthly fee to be waived.

    Ultimate Reward Current Account

    There is no charge for converting or closing your account but you’ll pay the monthly fee for the time the account has been open. Your final monthly fee will be proportionate to the number of days from the last fee debit day to the date of closure or account change.

    When you close your Ultimate Reward Current Account, the insurance benefits that come with the account will stop straight away. This is except for any upgrades purchased for breakdown cover directly through the AA.

    AA breakdown family cover: if you bought extra upgrades on your AA breakdown family cover, these will continue until they reach the end of their term. The AA will continue the cover previously given to you with your account, at no extra cost to you, until the yearly expiry date of your upgrade. 

You might also like

Brand change

As the Halifax brand changes to Lloyds, we'll keep you informed at every stage.

More on the change

Get the Lloyds app

Access and manage your Halifax accounts in the Lloyds app. 

How to get the app

Support centre

While the brand might be changing, we're still here to support you. 

Get help and support