Close a savings account.

Overview

Some savings accounts can be closed online. You can do this if

  • the account balance is £5 or less
  • you have another account with us to transfer the closing balance.

Bear in mind

  • Fixed rate and monthly savers cannot be closed online - this is because they are structured to pay interest at the end of a fixed period. You might be charged for closing this type of account early. We have not made it possible to close these accounts online to protect you from accidentally being charged.
  • Not all accounts that meet the criteria are eligible, due to for example, periods of inactivity or restrictions on your account.
  • Your account will not be fully closed until the day after your request when it will disappear from your accounts homepage. You may not be able to open additional savings accounts until the account is fully closed.

View step by step guide


Common enquiries

What if my account is applicable, but the balance is over £5?
You will need to transfer all but £5 or less out of the account. Once the transfer is complete you will be able to see the option to close the account

Can I close my joint account online?
Yes, unless you've previously requested that both parties named on the account sign their names to authorise any changes

What should I do if I've closed my account online but haven't received the closing balance?
Please call us on 0345 726 3646. If you're calling from abroad or would prefer not to use the 0345 number, you can call us on +44 (0) 113 242 2005.

If you cannot close your account online, or prefer to you can close your account at one of our branches.

Guide

From your account homepage select ‘More actions’ on the account you wish to close.

Click on the account you wish to close

Select ‘Close account’ from the ‘Account services’ menu.

Click on the Close your account link

You will then see a page detailing the balance of your account. Select which of your existing Halifax accounts you wish to transfer the money to. You will also be asked to select your reason for closing the account.

Select which of your existing Halifax accounts you wish to transfer the money to

The next screen confirms that you are closing your account and where the money is going to, simply click Confirm and the transaction will take place.

Click Confirm and the transaction will take place

Finally you will see a confirmation screen with the option to click back to your account overview page. Take careful note of the What you need to do section.

Take careful note of the What you need to do section

Looking for a better rate on your old account?

You may be able to get a better rate of interest by renewing your account instead of closing it.

Renew your existing account


* Renewing your account means either changing the type of account you hold, or changing the rate of interest that your account pays.