To close your credit card account

Things to know before you close your account

• Once your credit card is closed, we can’t reopen your account. You and any additional cardholder can no longer make transactions.

• Until you’ve paid off everything you owe, your agreement continues with us.

• Once your balance is paid in full, your account will then show as closed with the credit reference agencies. This usually takes around 60 days from when your balance reaches zero.

• If you have another Halifax credit card, you must wait four months before you can apply for a second card. You may have to wait longer if there is a balance outstanding on the closed card.

• If you receive online statements for this account, make sure you save or print copies beforehand. You won’t be able to access these, once your account details are no longer visible online.

How to do it

Let us show you step by step.

  1. Sign in and select Support.
  2. Select Message us to start.
  3. Type close credit card and answer our questions to complete the process.

Get set up now

Mobile Banking app

Join our 7 million app users.

  • Simple and secure sign in.
  • Stay up to date with notifications.
  • Chat to us online.

 

More about our app

QR code to download our Mobile Banking app

Mobile Banking app

Join our 7 million app users.

  • Simple and secure sign in.
  • Stay up to date with notifications.
  • Chat to us online.

Download app

More about our app

Let’s take a closer look

  • •You’ll need to keep making your payments until it’s paid off.

    •If a Direct Debit is in place on your closed account, we’ll still collect any payments that are due. If you do have a Direct Debit, please do not cancel it.

    •If you want to pay your full outstanding balance, there may be residual interest.

    •We won’t increase your interest rates on any outstanding balance, so you can repay at your existing rates.

    •If the account is in credit, you can message us in the app or call us for a refund.

  • •If you’re registered for Online Banking, you’ll be able to view your account details for up to four months. This could be longer if there is a balance on the account.

    •You’ll need to destroy your credit cards and any PINs, including those belonging to other cardholders.

    •You may have regular payments set up on your card. If so, please contact the company to arrange for them to be paid from another card or account.

    •If you’ve added your card to a mobile device - like a smartphone or online wallet, remember to remove it.

You might also like

Message us online

Get answers to your everyday banking questions. Sign in to our app or Online Banking to get in touch.

How to message us

Do more with our app

Find out about all the great features of our highly rated app, and how it compares to Online Banking.

More about our app

How secure is our app?

We use some of the latest technologies to fight fraud and help keep you and your money safe.

More about app security