How Open Banking works
Your financial information belongs to you, and Open Banking is designed to put you in control of it.
It will always be up to you if you want to make a payment or share data with an Open Banking service. That means you don’t need to opt in or out. You choose which services you want to share data with, and nothing is shared with services you haven’t signed up for.
You don’t need to give anyone your sign-in details to use Open Banking – you’ll only share the account information you choose to.
Protecting your data as well as your money
Security is a priority for us, and we’ve made it just as safe to use Open Banking as the other ways you bank with us.
- Only you can choose to share your data or make a payment.
- You can stop sharing data at any time in Online Banking.
- Your payments are protected in exactly the same way as when you use Online Banking.
You should still be just as careful as with any other online service. Read the details of everything you sign up for, and make sure you understand exactly what data you’re sharing and how it will be used. Check your statements regularly and contact us if you’re unsure about anything you see on them.
What to expect
Whenever you share data or make a payment, you’ll be transferred to our secure website or mobile banking app and we’ll ask you to sign in. This is so we can make sure it’s really you – you should not disclose your username and password to third parties.
Once you’ve set everything up, data and payment details are transferred between us and the other website/app using a protected connection. If you want to stop sharing anything, you can cancel it through Online Banking.
When you set up sharing, you’ll be able to see exactly what information is included before you agree to it.
You can check what data you’ve already agreed to share by viewing your data sharing settings in Online Banking. Look for ‘Data sharing settings’ under ‘Your profile’ once you’ve signed in.
You can stop sharing data at any time, either in Online Banking or through the other website/app. You’ll find your data sharing settings under ‘Your profile’ in Online Banking.
If you’ve shared data by giving someone your sign-in details, you won’t be able to cancel it in Online Banking. The other website/app should always have an option to stop sharing. This type of sharing will also stop automatically if you change your Online Banking password.
After you stop sharing data, they might keep a record of what you’ve shared in the past. You’ll need to contact them to check if they do this.
All companies involved in Open Banking need to be registered with the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) or another European regulator. That means they are responsible and accountable for how they use your data and handle payments. You can check that a UK company is registered for data sharing and payments on the FCA website.
If you’re not sure how someone is using your data, you should talk to them first. If they can’t help you, contact us and we’ll try to resolve the issue.
Whenever you use an Open Banking service, you’ll be transferred to our secure website so we can make sure it’s you. Always check that the web address contains the ‘s’ in ‘https://’ and that it ends with ‘halifax-online.co.uk’.
Remember, we'll never share your sign-in details with anyone, or contact you by phone or email asking for your sign-in details. We would never ask you to transfer money into a ‘safe’ account either. If you receive unusual phone calls or emails, or have concerns about any other suspicious activity, please contact us immediately.
Your payments are protected the same way as in Online Banking.
We’ll continue to protect your account, but we won’t be able to sort out any problems you have with a retailer. You should contact them if there’s an issue with any goods or services you’ve bought.